A free online AI course usually means free access to the lessons, not free credit. At MIT OpenCourseWare no credit or certificate is given at all, Harvard's CS50 AI is free to work through but sells certificates and transfer credit, and the Elements of AI courses are free while a certificate for the follow-on Building AI course appears to carry a fee. Checking which part of a course is free takes a few minutes and avoids surprises later.
Key takeaways
- MIT OpenCourseWare gives lecture materials without enrollment or an account, and states that MIT does not give credit or certificates for it.
- CS50's Introduction to AI with Python is free on OpenCourseWare, but project feedback goes through an online-course account and the paid options carry no listed price.
- Elements of AI says more than two million students have signed up for it.
- A course recorded years ago is still free to watch, and its date matters more than its price.
- A license such as CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 sets what a learner may do with free materials, not only what they cost.
Three kinds of free
The word covers different arrangements, and the same learner may meet all three in one afternoon. Open courseware publishes the materials of a past class. A free course with optional paid extras lets anyone work through the content and charges for proof of completion. A free online class built for the general public asks for no prerequisites and may charge only for a certificate. The table puts three real examples side by side, using what each course's own pages said on October 27, 2026.
| Course | What is free | What is missing or paid | Prerequisite stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| MIT 6.034 Artificial Intelligence (Fall 2010), Patrick Winston | Lecture videos, readings, syllabus, calendar, programming assignments, exams | No credit or certificate from MIT | Not stated in the page text reviewed |
| CS50's Introduction to AI with Python (Harvard), Brian Yu and David J. Malan | Seven weeks of OpenCourseWare material | Verified and professional certificates via an online course platform; transfer credit via Harvard Extension School or Summer School; prices not listed | CS50x or at least one year of Python |
| Elements of AI (University of Helsinki and MinnaLearn) | Introduction to AI course, described as needing no complicated math or programming | A fee is implied for the Building AI certificate; amounts not shown | Some basic Python recommended for Building AI |
What an open license allows
Free to read and free to reuse are separate things. The OpenCourseWare terms of use put MIT's materials under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 license. A school or tutor may copy, adapt, and share the materials with attribution, but may not sell them or charge students fees for a course built on them. The terms also address machine learning: OCW content may be used to train models if the license and the terms' AI-training requirements are followed, while models trained on it may not be used for commercial advantage. A teacher planning to build a classroom unit from a free course should read those terms first.
OCW describes itself as a free and open collection of material from thousands of MIT courses, with more than 2,500 listed. The project was announced in 2001 and its website launched in 2003. Learners need no account, which also means no progress tracking and no one to ask.
Why the date matters
MIT's 6.034 page is labeled Fall 2010. The materials are a record of one class in one year, and the subject tags on the page are artificial intelligence, machine learning, algorithms, and theory of computation. Someone looking for a recent technique should compare the syllabus against the topic they want before investing weeks, because a free course does not update itself. The same applies to the other examples: the CS50 AI course page does not state which year's edition it shows, so a learner who needs current content should look at the lecture dates inside the course.
Checking a free course in five minutes
- Find the line that says what is free: lessons, assignments, feedback, or the certificate.
- Look for the date of the materials and the prerequisites named on the course page itself.
- Check whether an account is needed, and what personal data it collects.
- Find the license, if materials will be reused in a classroom or training program.
- If a credential matters for a job or school application, ask the employer or school whether it accepts that credential before paying.
Prices for certificates change, and the pages cited here did not list them, so the course pages remain the final word. This article describes public pages and does not recommend any provider.
FAQ
Can a free AI course lead to a credential?
Sometimes, for a fee. Harvard's CS50 AI offers online-platform certificates and transfer credit as paid routes. MIT OpenCourseWare offers neither.
Do free courses need an account?
It varies. OpenCourseWare needs no enrollment or account. CS50 AI projects are submitted for feedback through an online-course account.
Can a teacher reuse free course materials in a class?
Only within the license. MIT OpenCourseWare allows noncommercial adaptation with attribution and requires adaptations to be shared under the same license.
Is a recorded course from 2010 still useful?
For foundations it can be, depending on the topic. For current tools and methods, a learner should look for a recent syllabus, since the course itself will not change.
Related reading
- a step-by-step beginner syllabus built from free resources
- which DeepMind courses are free and who they suit
- what advertising law says about the word free
- AI camps for kids and teens
More in AI Basics.
Last verified: October 2026
Sources
- Terms of Use, MIT OpenCourseWare, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- About OCW, MIT OpenCourseWare, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- 6.034 Artificial Intelligence, Fall 2010, MIT OpenCourseWare
- CS50's Introduction to Artificial Intelligence with Python, Harvard University
- Elements of AI, University of Helsinki and MinnaLearn